Individual Honors

Each year, NACUFS gives out several national recognition awards to honor individuals and organizations for their outstanding service to the association and its membership. Visit each award's page to view the criteria, eligibility, and past winners for each award, as well as nomination forms. 

Theodore W. Minah Distinguished Service Award

The Theodore W. Minah Distinguished Service Award is NACUFS' most prestigious honor. Originally established in 1967 as the Distinguished Service Award, it was renamed in 1973 to honor the first recipient, Theodore W. Minah. The award is presented in recognition of exemplary and enduring contributions to the foodservice industry and the association. 2019 individual award nominations were due January 30, 2019.

David R. Prentkowski Distinguished Lifetime Member Award

The David. R. Prentkowski Distinguished Lifetime Member Award was created to honor retired members who have supported the betterment of college and university foodservice and NACUFS. 2019 individual award nominations are were January 30, 2019.

Daryl Van Hook Industry Award

The Daryl Van Hook Industry Award is presented annually to an industry member (individual or organization) based on educational support, product innovation, and service to the association. 2019 individual award nominations are were January 30, 2019.

Richard Lichtenfelt Award

The Richard Lichtenfelt Award was named after the association's first president, who served from 1958 to 1960. The award recognizes outstanding service to NACUFS on a national level. Recipients are selected by the association president.