Catering—Online Menu

(Electronic Entries Only) 

This category will judge a school’s online catering menu only, not a specific event or facility. 

Submission Requirements 

Judging Criteria 

Menu will be judged on the following criteria (90 points)

You must submit an essay and include answers to the following questions (10 points)

  1. What was the business strategy used in developing your menu? 
  2. How does the menu support your business strategy? 
  3. How do you define success, and how is it measured at your facility? 
  4. What efforts were taken in regards to sustainability? 
  5. How has your catering department distinguished itself from others? 
  6. What is your specialty, or what are you most proud of in your catering department?  

Contest Rules 

  1. The contest is open to all NACUFS institutional members in good standing.  Entries must be designed and produced by the school entering the contest.  Entries cannot be of company-wide promotions/menus/concepts that are for use at multiple locations or institutions as a company program, or submitted previously.
  2. All entries must be received by the deadline of April 1, 2017.  Entries not received by the deadline will have one point deducted for each day late up to five days, and thereafter be disqualified and will not be judged.
  3. The dining awards chair and NACUFS staff will review all entries upon receipt for rule adherence, qualification, and classification, and reserve the right to reclassify entries if deemed appropriate.
  4. The decision of the judges if final.
  5. By entering, permission is thereby given to the National Association of College & University Food Services (NACUFS) to publish and/or use in any way the material so submitted. 

Contest Penalties 

Failure to follow the rules as defined will result in disqualification or penalty points being assessed against the total score as follows:

  1. Essay
    1. Essay Missing:  Disqualified
    2. Essay of more than 300 words:  Disqualified
  2. Late Entry:  One point per day, up to five days, thereafter disqualified