Loyal E. Horton Dining Awards

We appreciate everyone that participated in the Loyal E. Horton dining awards this year. We know it was a challenge to meet the deadline due to COVID-19. These awards need to be reviewed in person so we continue to monitor travel restrictions to evaluate if a team of judges can travel to the NACUFS office in the near future. We will update members as more develops with this situation. Thank you for your patience.

Collegiate foodservice is a demanding profession worthy of recognition. In college and university
culinary arts, the ultimate professional tribute is a NACUFS Loyal E. Horton Dining Award.

Named for a NACUFS founder, past president and highly regarded innovator, the Loyal E. Horton
Dining Awards celebrate exemplary menus, presentations, special event planning, and new dining
concepts, and provide an avenue for sharing ideas and creative presentations in campus dining


Why Enter?

Competing for this prestigious award will help instill a sense of pride and team spirit with your
dining staff. You will gain national recognition from your peers and be able to market an awardwinning dining program to your customers. With your entry, you will share your creativity and
knowledge with other foodservice professionals with your entry.

Each year’s winning contest entries are displayed at the NACUFS national conference and award
winners are publicly recognized at a luncheon culminating with the announcement of the Grand
Prize winners. Grand Prize winners also receive recognition with a feature article in NACUFS’
Campus Dining Today®.

With classifications for every size program and multiple categories covering residential dining,
catering, and retail sales, there is sure to be an opportunity for you to compete in this highly
regarded dining contest. 
Enter this prestigious competition and gain acclaim for your program!

Categories | Rules

Because there are many facets to collegiate dining (and institutions vary in size and budget), the Loyal E. Horton Dining Awards Contest offers six major categories, each with awards for small, medium, and large institutions.

The categories for the contest are:

  1. Residential Dining Concepts
  2. Residential Dining Facility
  3. Residential Dining—Special Event
  4. Retail Sales—Single Concept/Multiple Concepts/Marketplace
  5. Catering—Special Event
  6. Catering—Online Menu (Electronic Entries Only)

If you have questions, contact NACUFS at (517) 332-2494.